DFA consular offices in ‘NCR Plus’ bubble to remain closed during ECQ 

DFA says ‘all passport data are safe’


MANILA, Philippines — The Department of Foreign Affairs’ (DFA) consular offices within the “NCR Plus” bubble covering Metro Manila, Bulacan, Cavite, Rizal and Laguna will remain closed following the extension of the enhanced community quarantine (ECQ).

“[T]he Consular Offices of the Department of Foreign Affairs in Metro Manila (including the Office of Consular Affairs in Aseana, Parañaque City), Antipolo, Dasmariñas, Malolos and San Pablo will remain closed,” the DFA said in an advisory issued late Sunday.


The DFA added that passport and authentication applicants affected by the ECQ extension will be accommodated “beginning from the week after ECQ is lifted.”

DFA logs 88 COVID-19 cases among staff in March

Department of Foreign Affairs building. INQUIRER FILE PHOTO

Emails will be sent to concerned passport and authentication applicants with their new appointment schedule, the DFA said.

“We again advise that schedules may still be subject to change if current ECQ restrictions continue or when local governments and mall partners which host these [consular offices] implement restrictions on access,” the department said.

“The DFA shall update its advisory should there be further changes. Please make sure to check our website https://consular.dfa.gov.ph for the latest update on the schedules of Consular Offices,” it added.

The government initially enforced the enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) for a week from Mar. 29 to April 4. The ECQ period was extended for at least another week until April 11.

On Sunday, the Philippines logged 11,028 additional COVID-19 cases, pushing the total of active cases in the country to 135,526. The Philippines’ overall tally of confirmed cases is now at 795,051.