NCR, 4 provinces placed under MECQ

President Rodrigo Duterte has downgraded the quarantine classification in the National Capital Region (NCR) and four nearby provinces to a less stringent Modified Enhanced Community Quarantine (MECQ), Malacañang said Sunday.

Presidential spokesman Harry Roque Jr. said the NCR, the provinces of Cavite, Laguna, Bulacan and Rizal, the city of Santiago in Quirino and Abra will be under MECQ from April 12 until April 30.

Cagayan, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, Batangas, Tacloban City, Iligan City, Davao City, Lanao del Sur and Quezon will be under General Community Quarantine while the rest of the Philippines will be under the most lenient Modified General Community Quarantine, Roque said.