‘Fan Girl’ sweeps major awards at 4th Eddys

After dominating the 46th Metro Manila Film Festival last December, Antoinette Jadaone’s dark coming-of-age movie “Fan Girl” bagged major awards at the 4th Entertainment Editors’ Choice Awards for Movies (Eddys) held virtually on Sunday night.

Organized by the Society of Philippine Entertainment Editors (SPEEd), in partnership with the Film Development Council of the Philippines (FDCP), the annual awards saw “Fan Girl” — a film about an obsessed teenager who spent a night with her celebrity idol — winning Best Picture, Best Screenplay, Best Sound, Best Editing, Best Director, Best Actress for Charlie Dizon and Best Actor for Paulo Avelino.

Best Director Antoinette Jadaone

“I share this award to other nominated directors and I also dedicate this award to the team behind ‘Fan Girl.’ Napagtagumpayan nating makatapos ng isang pelikula sa gitna ng pandemya. Maraming salamat din sa lahat ng tumulong na ma-spread yung word about ‘Fan Girl’ noong mga panahon na hindi bukas ang mga sinehan at ang tanging paraan lang namin para maipalabas ay via online streaming platforms,” Jadaone said in her speech.

A highlight of the event was the launch of the Isah V. Red (IVR) Award in honor of the SPEEd’s late founding president. Sen. Ramon “Bong” Revilla, Jr., Angel Locsin, Kim Chiu, Ramon Ang, Rei Anicoche-Tan, and Claire de Leon-Papa were the first IVR Award recipients for their humanitarian efforts toward alleviating conditions of people adversely affected by the pandemic.

Charlie Dizon of ‘Fan Girl’ wins Best Actress award
Charlie Dizon of ‘Fan Girl’ wins Best Actress award

Industry veterans Gloria Sevilla, Ronaldo Valdez, Pilar Pilapil, Boots Anson-Rodrigo, Gina Pareño, Dante Rivero, Tommy Abuel, Caridad Sanchez, Joel Lamangan and Ricky Lee were bestowed The Eddys Icon Awards.

Other special Eddys awards were given to columnist and television and radio host Lolit Solis for the Joe Quirino Award, entertainment columnist Mario Bautista for the Manny Pichel Award, Blacksheep Productions for the Rising Producers’ Circle, and The IdeaFirst Company as Producer of the Year.

Departed industry legends Peque Gallaga, Tony Mabesa, Menggie Cobarrubias, Ramon Revilla, Sr. and Tony Ferrer were given posthumous recognitions.

Here’s the full list of winners:
  • Best Picture-Fan Girl
  • Best Director-Antoinette Jadaone (“Fan Girl”)
  • Best Actor-Paulo Avelino (“Fan Girl”)
  • Best Actress-Charlie Dizon (“Fan Girl”)
  • Best Supporting Actor-Edgar Allan Guzman (“Coming Home”)
  • Best Supporting Actress-Shaina Magdayao (“Tagpuan”)
  • Best Screenplay-Antoinette Jadaone (“Fan Girl”)
  • Best Cinematography-Rody Lacap (“Magikland”)
  • Best Visual Effects-Richard Francis & Ryan Grimarez (“Magikland”)
  • Best Musical Score-Tie (“On Vodka, Beers And Regrets” and “The Boy Foretold The Stars”)
  • Best Production Design-Ericson Navarro (“Magikland”)
  • Best Sound-Vincent Villa (“Fan Girl”)
  • Best Editing-Benjamin Tolentino (“Fan Girl”)
  • Best Original-Theme Song – Ulan (“The Boy Foretold The Stars”)