Knights, Tigers start Lakan Cup title series

The best of the North against the beast of the South.

This will be the theme when North Division champion San Juan and South Division winner Davao Occidental clash in the best-of-five Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League (MPBL) Lakan Season National Finals starting at 4 p.m. on Wednesday at the closed-door Subic Bay Gym.


The Go for Gold-backed Knights, the 2019 MPBL Datu Cup titlists, routed the crippled Makati Super Crunch, 131-54, on March 10 to assert their supremacy in the North, while the Cocolife-supported Tigers got free passage to the South title following the unfortunate exit of the Basilan Steel from the Chooks-to-Go MPBL bubble here.

The Steel forfeited their Game 3 decider with the Tigers on Wednesday after four of their players tested positive for COVID-19 last Monday.

The infected players will be fetched by their local government units (LGUs), but if they can’t be accommodated by their LGUs, they will be confined at the local hospital.

Both the Knights and the Tigers have intact rosters for the Finals to be shown on A2Z and the official MPBL Facebook page.

Read Next


Don’t miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.